Clinical Teaching Awards - Presented at the State of the Department Address on June 6th, 2019

Each spring the faculty, fellows, and housestaff elect a few of their colleagues as outstanding clinical teachers and the department holds an awards ceremony in conjunction with Medical Grand Rounds. The individuals below are this year's winners.

Click to expand each section to see recipients by division.

Judge Sidney H. Reiss Award for Excellence in Pulmonary Medicine - Robert Lentz, M.D.
Roger Des Prez Award for Teaching Excellence - Ryan Brown, M.D.
Sam Marney Award for Excellence in Allergy & Immunology Training - Christine Rukasin, M.D. and Kourtney Gardner, M.D.
Bonnie Slovis Award for Excellence in Outpatient Pulmonary Clinical Care: Erin Wilfong, M.D., Ph.D.
Allergy & Immunology Faculty Teaching Award - Jonathan Hemler, M.D.


Cardiovascular Medicine Faculty Teaching Award for Best Overall Teacher of the Year- Joseph Salloum, M.D.
Cardiovascular Medicine Fellow Teaching Award - Daniel Clark, M.D.
Cardiovascular Medicine Rhode's Award for Scholarly Activity - Jessica Huston, M.D.

Clinical Pharmacology Faculty Teaching Award - Annet Kirabo, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Clinical Pharmacology Fellows Teaching Award - David M. Patrick, M.D., Ph.D.
Jason D. Morrow Clinical Pharmacology Chief Fellow - Anna E. Patrick, M.D., Ph.D.


The 2018 William D. Salmon, Jr. Faculty Teaching Award - Andrea L. Utz, M.D., Ph.D.

The 2018 William J. Kovacs Endocrine Fellow Award - Margaret L. Burks, M.D.

Vanderbilt Ingram Cancer Center Impact Award - No 2018 Award

Richard P. Schneider Recognition Award - Rishi Naik, M.D.
Division of GI Outstanding Teaching Award - Manhal Izzy, M.D.

F. Tremaine (Josh) Billings Faculty Teaching Award - Ashley Karpinos, M.D.

Outstanding Preceptor Award - Krista Suojanen, M.D.

Grant W. Liddle Excellence in Teaching Award - No 2018 Award ​

Teaching Excellence in Geriatric Medicine - Sandra F. Simmons, Ph.D.
Teaching Excellence in Geriatric Medicine- James S. Powers, M.D.

Hematology/Oncology Most Outstanding Fellow Teaching Award - Ricky Martin, M.D., M.P.H.
Kenneth R. Hande, M.D. Most Outstanding Teacher Award for Excellence in Teaching Students and Residents -Adetola Kassim, M.B.B.S.

William Schaffner Teaching Award in Infectious Diseases -  Karen Bloch, M.D., M.PH., F.I.D.S.A.
Infectious Diseases Outstanding Fellow Award - Milner Benedict Owens Staub, M.D.

Nephrology Chief Fellow Award 2018-2019 - Cassandra Kovach, M.D.
Nephrology Faculty Teaching Award - Gautam (Jay) Bhave, M.D., Ph.D.
Nephrology Professionalism Award: Matthew Day, M.D.

Rheumatology Faculty Teaching Award - Kevin W. Byram, M.D.
Rheumatology Fellow Teaching Award - Bret K. Sohn, M.D.

Best Faculty Teacher, VUH - David Walsh, M.D.
Best Faculty Teacher, Veterans Affairs - Daniel Birchmore, M.D.
Best Faculty Teacher, Ambulatory - Beth Ann Yakes, M.D.
Best Fellow Teacher - Timothy Thayer, M.D.
Best Resident Teacher - Peter Edmonds, M.D.